ABBA The Album (Polydor 2335180)

Mayar Music Company

  • $99.00

ABBA: The Album (also known as simply The Album) is the 5th studio album by the Swedish pop group ABBA. It was released in Scandinavia on 12 December 1977 through Polar Music, but due to the massive pre-orders the UK pressing plants were not able to press sufficient copies before Christmas 1977 and so it was not released in the UK until January 1978. The album was released in conjunction with ABBA: The Movie, with several of the songs featured in the film. Altogether the album contained nine songs.

The album contained two UK number-one singles, "Take a Chance on Me" and "The Name of the Game", as well as European hits "Eagle" and "Thank You for the Music".

ABBA: The Album reached No. 1 in many territories. In the UK it debuted at the top and remained there for seven weeks,[9] ending up as the third biggest selling album of the year (behind the movie soundtrack LPs of Saturday Night Fever and Grease). In the US it became their highest charting album, where during 1978 ABBA undertook a big promotional campaign. Due to the Cold War, Western music was actively discouraged throughout Eastern Europe at the time. Despite this, ABBA: The Album sold an unprecedented one million copies in Poland in 1977, exhausting the country's entire allocation of foreign currency. In Russia, only 200,000 copies were permitted to be pressed; however, demand within the USSR indicated they could have sold 40 million copies.

Side 1

  • Eagle
  • Take A Chance On Me
  • One Man, One Woman
  • The Name Of The Game

Side 2

  • Move On
  • Hole In Your Soul
  • "The Girl With The Golden Hair"
    • Thank You For The Music
    • I Wonder (Departure)
    • I'm A Marionette

    We Also Recommend